Zucchini in parchment

Between Amazon and Pinterest I could eat something different for every one of my meals for the next few years without repeating anything. This recipe was originally from a book called “How to Cook Everything” by Mark Bittman. This is the book that has really kick started all of my adventures in cooking this summer. This book is a basic, with over 2,000 recipes, cookbook that breaks everything down. It give alternative food ideas in case you like the way something is prepared but not the food its being made with. It also explains the benefits of the way it cooked. This has become one of the stable side dishes that I eat. I have made this with both yellow onions and with green onions it depends on what is in my fridge. The original recipe calls for both zucchini and summer squash, but personally I don’t care much for summer squash.

Ingredients:
3-4 medium zucchini
1 tsp basil
½ a small yellow onion
1 tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper to taste
freshly squeezed lemon juice

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees
2. take a piece of parchment paper fold in half and this will be the pocket where you put the veggies
3. Cut the zucchini in coins and thinly slice the onion. Place both the zucchini and onion in one half of the parchment paper. Sprinkle the basil, salt, pepper and then drizzle with olive oil.

20120824-140606.jpg

4. Seal the pockets by rolling the edges together, place on a baking sheet and stick in the oven for about 15-20 minutes.
5. Be careful of the steam when opening the pockets. Squeeze the lemon juice (I use ½ a lemon, but I love the taste of lemons) onto the zucchini and onion. Serve immediately

20120824-140722.jpg

6 thoughts on “Zucchini in parchment

  1. Pingback: Fettuccine with Tomato Cream Sauce | A book, coffee, and the park

  2. I have a few favorite recipes I will e-mail you, I have been carb free and our kitchen really heats up in the summer so I look for electric skillet recipes that keep the house cool. Love the hints, as I am always looking for good healthy food to prepare

  3. Pingback: Strawberry Lemonade Cookies | A book, coffee, and the park

Leave a Reply

