Relax! And be still!

Ever have those days, weeks, months were you seem to be going non stop, that even when you have a day off you fill it with plans so not to be caught sitting still? I have a major problem with slowing down, unplugging, and just being still, so as a challenge I’ve been trying to have a couple of hours a week where I’m just still and don’t do anything. Have you ever tried to sit and just be still? It is really hard! I live within walking distance of a park and even bought a nice picnic type blanket to go to the park with.

A friend is staying with me for a while and today we both had the day off, so we went to the park for the morning. We brought blankets, books, my bible, snacks and what seemed like everything we needed, except the bug spray. Amanda was pretty sure we were sitting by an ant hill, and she was probably right because there was a lot of ants. We were chit chatting as I was finishing up the last of my coffee and the conversation turned to yoga. Since I taught yoga in high school and college we decided to have our own mini class right there in the park. In the years that I taught it was always within the confines of a health club, it was refreshing to get outside in God’s creation and just focus on relaxing and resting! I was so glad she brought it up.

20120825-151127.jpg
We ended up staying at the park for about 3 hours or so, I’ve come to realize that for myself, at least, that I need a while to unwind before I can start to really rest and be still. It really was a great way to spend the morning and I feel refreshed for the week ahead. Also I find that when I let myself become still I am able to focus better and I’m a lot happier as well. Now I’m hanging out on the couch eating frozen grapes, which of you’ve never eaten before I would highly recommend. Just wash the amount of grapes you would normally eat in a sitting and stick them in the freezer for 10-15 minutes, a yummy healthy snack for summer. Hope your weekend is a good one!

One thought on “Relax! And be still!

Leave a Reply

