More tomatoes?!

For some unknown reason every time I go to the grocery I have this feeling that I’m running low on pasta. I go to the grocery a lot, I have about 12 pounds of pasta in my pantry as I’m writing this. For as much as I think of buying pasta I somehow always over look the pasta sauce! This time of year is when it seems that everyone is overwhelmed with the amount of ripe tomatoes their plants are producing. Since I have what seems like the never ending pasta supply with no sauce I’m very grateful for those extra tomatoes people are trying to get rid of.

Simple Tomato Sauce

Ingredients:
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/2 small yellow onion finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp of each of the following: rosemary, oregano, basil, and thyme
Salt and pepper to taste
1 1/2-2lbs fresh tomatoes

Directions:
1. In a sauce pan heat the olive oil, onions, and garlic until fragrant (8-10 minutes).
2. On a large chopping board (I prefer the flexible ones for chopping tomatoes, it makes it easy to not lose any juice when transferring them into the pan) and chop the tomatoes, while trying to keep the juice from escaping!
3. Add the tomatoes and their jive to the pain with the olive oil. Add the herbs and bring the sauce to a boil. Lower the heat to a simmer and allow sauce to thicken, about 30 minutes.
4. This step is optional, I personally like chunky pasta sauce but after the sauce has been simmering you can let it cool for a few minutes, and transfer it to a blender. Blend until smooth but be careful because it will be hot.

2 thoughts on “More tomatoes?!

  1. Pingback: Must-Haves For Your Pantry | Navigating Vita

  2. Pingback: Stuffed tomatoes | A book, coffee, and the park

Leave a Reply

