Dangerous Wonder by Philip Yaconelli

20120902-214943.jpg
How refreshing, I’ve been a Christian for a while and I ended up reading this book at exactly the perfect time! This is a book about finding your childlike faith in a world where people grow up way too fast. Where in a grown up world making a mistake or asking for help is too often seen as either a sign of failure or weakness. Michael Yaconelli gives vivid examples of what childlike faith looks like and how we can easily adapt it into our lives. One thing I personally can relate to is when in the book it is talking about the story of Thomas and his questioning. The story of doubting Thomas if you are not familiar with it is this: Now Thomas(also known as Didymus), one of the Twelve, was not with the disciples when Jesus came. So the other disciples told him, “We have seen the Lord!” But he said to them, “Unless I see the nail marks in his hands and put my finger where the nails were, and put my hand into his side, I will not believe.” A week later his disciples were in the house again, and Thomas was with them. Though the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you!” Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here; see my hands. reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe. John 20:24-26 I’ve always been a curious person that asks a lot of questions. “Jesus wasn’t offended by Thomas’s curiosity. Shown by the fact that Jesus allowed Thomas to touch the scars on him. Our questions may chase everyone else away, but they attract Jesus” (pg. 41). Questions are a child like characteristic, ask anyone who has spent more than 5 minutes with a 5 year old, there is a long stream of “but why’s?” One of my favorite quotes from this book would be “Prayer is savoring God. Savoring is immersing ourselves in His presence, hearing him with all of our senses” (pg. 88).

Here is what I kept thinking of while I was reading this book:

Have you ever looked at a child playing and thought “Wow, not a care in the world, they are so free” God wants us to be just like that, we do have cares and worries in all of our lives, the bible clearly shows that there will be storms in all of our lives. Instead of wasting my time working about things I have no control over I need to give those things to the one who has control, by praying to God. To enjoy the blessing that God has placed in my life and trust his will, will be done. Any who know me know that I often worry more than I should a lot of the time, this is a continual process of change that I am going through, some months are better than others.

2 thoughts on “Dangerous Wonder by Philip Yaconelli

  1. Pingback: Facing Your Doubts | wateredsoul.com

  2. Pingback: Living Dangerously | Positive Syntax

Leave a Reply

