Apple cake

“Mom… I just picked and bought 11 pounds of apples, what should I do now?”
“11 pounds, why?”
“I don’t know, they just looked so good I couldn’t stop picking them! Do you have that apple cake recipe you make?”
True conversation between my mother and me, she of course came to my rescue and within the day I got an e-mail from my parents with the recipe. I went to a local orchard prior to that call, and let me tell you I left there with over $30 worth of fruit. There were apples, and peaches and grapes, and they even had slushies too. There is just something about picking your own food that is so much fun! There were apples everywhere just begging to be picked and placed in my bag. This recipe also thankfully calls for cinnamon, for some reason I didn’t store my cinnamon with all the other spices I have. Naturally I didn’t think I had any and went to the store and bought more. At least fall is here so there are many recipes that call for cinnamon, and I will be trying most of them out! This recipe is courtesy of my mom.

20120828-155745.jpg
Ingredients:
2 cups sugar
2 eggs slightly beaten
1 ½ cups cooking oil
2 tsp vanilla
3 cups flour
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
3 cups of peeled chopped apples

20120828-155855.jpg
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350, grease and flour a 13×9 inch pan.
2. In a large bowl blend together (by hand, not electric mixer) sugar, oil, eggs and vanilla. Blend the dry ingredients into the sugar mixture.
3. Stir in chopped apples and spread into the baking pan, use a wooden spoon to blend and mix.

20120828-160138.jpg
4. Bake for 40-45 minutes. Use a cake tester after 40 minutes to see if it comes out clean, if not put the cake back in for an additional 5 minutes. (I used a toothpick).

About half way through mixing this I freaked out and called my parents because it just didn’t look right, it was too dry. In a panic I call my dad’s cell phone, my mom never answers hers, and his responded in a calm voice asking, “Did you add all the ingredients?”. From about 600 miles away he knew, yes of course I forgot to add the oil, and just like that the batter looked better! Now that being said, this is a super thick batter, and it’s kind of crumbly.

20120828-160237.jpg
So please don’t be like me and freak out, or forget any of the ingredients! It should look like the picture above. Enjoy any apple picking, and let me know what your favorite apple recipe is!

4 thoughts on “Apple cake

  1. Pingback: Experience 5: Baking Apple Cake | a hectic life

  2. Pingback: Boyd’s Orchard | A book, coffee, and the park

  3. Pingback: Oh November | A book, coffee, and the park

  4. Pingback: Terri's Kitchen: My Mother's Apple Cake

Leave a Reply

