Penne with Sun Dried Tomatoes in Cream Sauce

Through deciding to try out all these different types of recipes I’ve come to realize that I truly know where nothing is in the grocery! I mean I know where the brad and the meat are, but I had to ask the employees and occasionally a stranger where something might be, and something what something was! Such was the case when I tried to find the dun dried tomatoes. I eat pasta like it’s going out of style, mostly because I have this odd habit of buying pasta ALL THE TIME! I may have mentioned it before, but in the 4 years that I have lived by myself I don’t think I’ve ever gone under having at least 5 lbs of pasta on hand. This was a quick dinner fix, taking no more than 30 minutes to both prepare and to fix.

20120904-120203.jpg
Penne with Sun Dried Tomatoes in Cream Sauce
By: Very Best Cooking

Ingredients:
2 cups dry penne pasta
8 sun dried tomatoes chopped
1 (12 oz) can evaporated milk low fat 2% milk
2 cup shredded Italian style cheese
1 tsp dried basil
¼ tsp garlic powder
½ tsp ground pepper

Directions:
1. Prepare pasta according to package, adding the sun dried tomatoes to the boiling water for the last two minutes of the cooking time, drain.

20120904-140902.jpg
2. Combine evaporated milk, cheese, basil, garlic powder, and pepper in a medium sauce pan. Cook over medium-low heat until cheese is melted. Remove from heat.

20120904-141008.jpg
3. Add pasta and sun dried tomatoes to cheese sauce, stir until combined.

20120904-141113.jpg
*Note* This was good re-heated, but the sauce was really thick and didn’t really melt again after it was once in the fridge. This would be delicious for having a few friends over for dinner

One thought on “Penne with Sun Dried Tomatoes in Cream Sauce

  1. Pingback: Fettuccine with Tomato Cream Sauce | A book, coffee, and the park

Leave a Reply

