Grace by Max Lucado

Is the concept of grace hard for you to grasp? It was and sometimes still is for me. I became a believer as an adult and the grace and forgiveness were two of the hardest ideas for me to accept. Max Lucado gives, what I think is, a good description of what grace is, “God didn’t overlook your sins, lest he endorse them. He didn’t punish you, lest he destroy you. He instead found a way to punish the sin and preserve the sinner. Jesus took your punishment and God gave you credit for Jesus’ perfection”. As I read through this book there were several section of the book that made me stop and think. Think about what I perceived grace was, and what God was telling me grace is, and if grace is happening in my life. One of the biggest sections that made me stop and think was, “Revenge won’t paint the blue back in your sky or restore the spring in your step. No it will leave you bitter, bent, and angry. Give the grace you’ve been given.” This is not the first time that I have heard this, the bible clearly states to forgive as you have been forgiven. When I was reading this I was thinking of how in general our society wants to get the last word in, to make sure we are right and everybody knows it, and how I personally still have some things I’ve held on to that need to be let go of. I liked how when I read this there was scripture throughout the entire book that the ideas about grace were backed by stories from the bible. I will be recommending this book to my friends.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

