I love my wok!!!

As I’ve mentioned before Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything go the ball rolling on my cooking this year. This is simple, quick, healthy and amazing! When I first began my adventure in learning to cook, I knew that I was somewhat of a picky eater, but I had no idea of all the wonderful food I was missing out on. By no means am I a food connoisseur, but I have definitely ventured from my comfort zone. Snow peas were one of the pleasant surprises that I had never really eaten before. I may have had them once or twice in a mixed veggie bag, but never on their own. When I want something quick and yummy I turn to this simple recipe:

20120919-132220.jpg
Snow Peas
Ingredients:
1 cup snow peas
1 garlic clove, smashed
1 tablespoon wok oil (I use House of Tsang)
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Wash and dry 1 cup of snow peas, cut off the tips of the pod.
2. Add 1 Tbsp wok oil to the wok, and turn the stove to med-high heat. Smash a clove of garlic (use the side of the knife blade to smash the clove), and add to the oil.
3. Add the snow peas, salt and pepper and cook for about 4-6 minutes. If you notice that the garlic is starting to brown make sure to remove it before it burns.

Normally I have already started some brown rice before even washing the snow peas, that way when they are done I can place the peas on a sea of rice, and put about a teaspoon of soy sauce and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

