Workout challenge 2: lose 15 pounds!

Ok, I’ll be leaving for vacation on Thanksgiving Day, Florida here I come!! That is exactly 6 weeks from today!! 6 weeks may seem like a long time away, but for healthy weight loss they don’t recommend losing more than 2 pounds a week. I would ideally like to lose 15 lbs so that means starting today I’ll be starting my new workout plan! Why wait for tomorrow when you can start today, right?! I have finally kicked the cold that I had to the curb and started going back to the gym this week. Wow, missing just a week of working out made a difference, more than I was expecting. My last workout challenge was to work out 3 times a week for a month. Well, in order for me to see a significant difference I am going to have to step up my game quite a bit. I’m thinking of adding a day or two of doing Jillian Michaels 30 day shred into the mix, she is one intense lady. Does anyone have any likes/dislikes for the program? I know that the purpose for the 30 day shred is to do the workout everyday for 30 days but I like going to my gym and I doubt that my downstairs neighbor is going to enjoy me doing jumping jacks everyday for a month at 6 am. I think that I will stick to that on the weekends when I can do that in the middle of the day. I’ve looked at my personal schedule and honestly the only time that I have to fit in extra work outs is in the early morning, thankfully my gym opens at 5:30 am, and offer spinning or triad (my favorite class) at 5:45 am M-F. One hard thing for me to do when sticking with any kind of workout plan is that I get bored of doing the same thing day in and day out, which is why I enjoy the classes as much as I do, because each time is going to be a little bit different than the last time. I haven’t set this down in concrete just yet but my rough plan for the next 6 weeks is as follows:

Sundays: Jillian Michaels 30 day shred or hiking and yoga
Mondays: Spinning and yoga or Barre Fit
Tuesdays: Triad
Wednesdays: Spinning and yoga
Thursdays: Triad
Fridays: Spinning and yoga
Saturdays: New York City Ballet workout or Pilates

There is a huge possibility that this may change in the future, I may not be able to get up every morning at 5:15 am, especially with it getting colder every day. I like to plan big and then hopefully be able to follow through with it, but I do recognize that I would rather continue to work out 3 times a week and stay with it for a long time rather than burn myself out within a week and never go back. There will have to be a balance found, it should probably take a week or two to work out the kinks, but above is the ideal weekly workout plan for me.

Talk to almost anyone in the fitness business and they will tell you if you want to lose weight, you have to not only work out, but you have to eat right as well. This is a hard one for me, because I LOVE sugar. I will be using ‘my plate’ from livestrong to track what I am eating on a daily basis as well as adding in my fitness for the day. My goal is to lose weight, but to lose it in a healthy sustainable way. I don’t want to lose weight and then just gain it all back within a month, that would just bring down my morale. I eat relativity healthy to begin with, but my main focuses on my diet will be to lower my intake of sugar and when the sugar cravings hit to satisfy it with a healthier alternative. I’ll be trying out some healthier recipes, and will make sure to blog about the success and failures of them. It is a huge help to write about it, whether or not anyone realizes it, it helps hold me accountable. Wish me luck; I’m going to need it! Here’s to a healthier, and more fit me. The 6 week countdown has officially begun!

Updates:
What I learned this first week
Weight vs inches, Fat, and Water
Home Stretch of this challenge!

3 thoughts on “Workout challenge 2: lose 15 pounds!

  1. Pingback: What I learned this first week | A book, coffee, and the park

  2. Pingback: Weight vs Inches, Fat, and Water | A book, coffee, and the park

  3. Pingback: Home Stretch – Workout Challenge #2 | A book, coffee, and the park

Leave a Reply

