Weight vs Inches, Fat, and Water

Everyday I feel like I’m learning so much that I want to share some of the things that have helped me the most.

One week, one pound

Wow losing weight is hard!! I mean, I worked my hind end off last week and all I lost was one measly pound! Honestly, losing 1-2 pounds a week is healthy, any more and it may signal a deficiency in vital nutrients you body needs to stay healthy. One pound is making slow and steady progress towards my goal of 15 pounds lost. When I was younger I worked at a health club and learned the value of measurements. I know that the goal of this challenge is weight loss, but especially in the beginning it’s important to look at the inches you’ve lost. Why? Well muscle is denser than fat so it takes up less space, and toning up means I don’t jiggle like I did. Less space and don’t jiggle, those both sound pretty awesome to me! While I have lost one pound, I have lost a little over 6 inches!! No I did not lose all 6 inches from one spot, I took measurements from a variety of places. My arms, bust, waist (smallest part of midsection), abs (widest part about the hips), hips (widest part of the behind) and then my legs; some guides have you measure more or less. It’s important to keep a couple of tips in mind when you do measurements; measure yourself at the same time (I like early in the morning before I eat anything), use the same tape measure, wear tight fitting clothes, these tips can help ensure the most accurate measurements.

You have fat in your diet…..

On my livestrong myplate there is a little pie chart that I noticed the other day. I noticed it because it said 30% of my calories were coming from fat!!!! Excuse me, but I’ve been eating healthy there must be some kind of mistake. I looked over my meals and yep, I was eating healthy but there was still fat in my diet. Before I freaked out I wanted to do some research about how much diet is needed, I know that fat is important but I thought 30% of my daily calories coming from fat was a little much. Apparently not, according to Shape 25-35% of daily calories should come from fat?! Who knew, not this girl! I did a little more digging, because I know that not everything you read on the internet is true, and what was the harm from getting a second option, or even a third. Ok, I was a little skeptical but every website I went to say essentially the same thing; the CDC, and the Mayo Clinic. Fats are not the worst thing for you and your diet, as said in the Shape article “Fats are important because they determine the structure of our cells, slow digestion, strengthen our immunity and play a role in brain function.” What needs to be avoided is empty calories, you can read about empty calories here and here is a table of some empty calories.

H2O

You are 80% water, it’s a fact. On a normal day for me I drink 3 cups of coffee and then water during the rest of the day. While I think juice is great, it has a lot of sugar in it, I would rather eat some grapes or an orange, the sugar is still present, but I am eating my calories and not drinking them. If I was a pop drinker I would definitely try and switch out my pop for water. As it was I had to change how I was drinking my coffee. I have a giant cup that holds 3 cups of coffee, 2 tablespoons of sugar and non-dairy coffee creamer. You read that right, 2 tablespoons of sugar. I weaned myself down to 1 teaspoon of sugar, and 2 tablespoons of sugar free coffee creamer, by doing that alone my morning cup of java went from 168 calories to 83 calories, a difference of 85 calories. Wow, sugar has a ton of calories, don’t just take my word for it just today there was an article on NPR, my new favorite website the Mayo Clinic, and some tips on helping to make a few changes to our current beverage choices from the USDA. As a friend of mine told me a while ago, remember eat your calories, don’t drink them!

Main Points:
1. Make sure not to only focus on the scale! Take the time to do measurements. Remember muscle is denser than fat!!
2. You need to have some fat in your diet. There are many types of fat, try to eat healthy fats like the ones mentioned here, or here.
3. Avoid empty calories
4. Eat your calories, don’t drink them!

Related posts:
What I learned this first week
The Challenge

2 thoughts on “Weight vs Inches, Fat, and Water

  1. Pingback: Workout challenge 2: lose 15 pounds! | A book, coffee, and the park

  2. Pingback: Home Stretch – Workout Challenge #2 | A book, coffee, and the park

Leave a Reply

