There’s cilantro everywhere

Cilantro Lime Rice
From: Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients:
1 cup long grain brown rice
1 tsp butter
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tsp fresh lime juice
1 (15oz) can vegetable broth
1 cup water
1 tbsp fresh lime juice
4 tbsp freshly chopped cilantro

20120825-000651.jpg
Directions:
In a sauce pan combine rice, garlic, 2 tsp lime juice, broth and water. Bring to a boil, cover and cook on low until rice is tender (it took about 35-40 minutes for me). Remove from heat. In a small bowl whisk together the remaining lime juice, sugar, and cilantro. Pour over hot rice and combined.

Now accidentally when I was making this I misread the recipe and used 1 tbsp of butter instead of 1 tsp, it still turned out yummy. Cilantro could possibly be my favorite herb this month! I have had it before, I just never knew that it was cilantro that I was tasting. The rice was to go with the salsa chicken that made in the crock pot. Boy the crock pot is another favorite of mine, I will post the recipe for the chicken soon. To be honest when I read through the ingredients I was a little nervous when I saw the garlic and lime juice. Now I’m still learning to cook and there is so much that I still don’t know, but for some reason line juice paired with garlic sounded odd to me. For all I know this could be a common pairing, this rice tasted amazing, the two ingredients obviously work well together.

One thought on “There’s cilantro everywhere

  1. Pingback: Spaghetti and Meatballs | A book, coffee, and the park

Leave a Reply

