Thanksgiving Favorites

I had forgotten how exhausting my family can be! Not in a bad way, but in the running from here to there from dawn until dusk, and into the evening (since it’s winter and sunset is at 4:30 in the afternoon). I am so very thankful for all that my family has done for me and how there are always there! My mom has been sick so this Thanksgiving was a little different than in years past. Normally my mom prepares all the food, recipes taken from secret vaults hidden behind the tupperware. My mother can cook, bake you name it and she has a recipe for it somewhere, and she knows exactly where it is too. While my mother is in the hospital this year my father, sister and I had the task of finding and making the family favorites! A pretty intimidating task, we all wanted to make sure we got it right because Thanksgiving Day my mom was going to be able to come home and eat Thanksgiving dinner with us before she had to return to the hospital. None of us wanted to disappoint her, but lets be honest here folks, there is just something about when mom makes something that even if you use the same recipe and ingredients it just doesn’t taste the same. I don’t know what it is, everyone said the food that I made tasted great, even mom! Maybe it was all in my head but I am convinced that it did not taste as wonderful as when my mom makes it. On the plus side I now have two recipes that the family makes every holiday season. For as long as I can remember my mom has always made this wonderful pound cake!!

Pound Cake

Ingredients:

1 lb salted butter, softened

1 box (16 oz.) powdered sugar, sifted

6 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

3 cups flour

Image

I even used the special vanilla my mom gets from Mexico!

Directions:

Cream the butter and powdered sugar. Once mixed, add the eggs, one at a time, beat after every egg. Slowly add the flour and beat. Grease and flour a bundt pan, bake at 325 degrees for 60 minutes, checking once it is at 45 minutes until it is done.

20121130-093922.jpg

20121130-093950.jpg

20121130-094005.jpg
Last week I may not have had the chance to go the gym, but I did get to take my parents dog for a walk. As well as not only meet but hang out with my sisters new puppy, if a 70 lb American Bulldog/Great Dane mix can ever really be a puppy :) Isn’t he cute?!

20121130-095416.jpg The next favorite from Thanksgiving was the steaks, I know you’re supposed to eat turkey on thanksgiving, but there are only 4 of us in my family and we like steak more than turkey! Within the last couple of years my mom found a great turkey breast that is in a bag and goes from ‘freezer to dinner table’ in 3 hours. I must admit I do really like that turkey! What makes the steaks so amazing is the marinade, something my parents have used since before my sister and I were born! My mom said that she got it from a friend and it was originally used for kebobs, I don’t care what it was originally used for, I’m just happy that I now have the recipe!

Marinade

Ingredients:
1 cup soy sauce
½ cup brown sugar
½ cup white vinegar
½ cup pineapple juice
2 tsp salt (optional)
½ tsp garlic powder
1 cup lemon juice

20121130-095559.jpg
Directions:
Mix all ingredients together and bring to a boil in a medium sauce pan. Let completely cool, otherwise there is a chance that it may start to cook the meat! Marinade for at least 4 hours or overnight is best. Cook and enjoy!!

It’s almost December!!! To kick off the Christmas season I will be doing a series called ’12 Days of Cookies!’ I am hoping do be able to do this within 12 consecutive days, but am giving myself the a little slack and saying that all 12 recipes need to be up before Christmas Eve!! So please stay tuned and get ready to see some yummy cookie creations!! What’s your favorite cookie for Christmas? Comment below and maybe I’ll make them :)

Leave a Reply

