Beard contest, the Nutcracker, and cookies, oh my!

Before I knew if December snuck up on me! I’ll tell you what, if this past weekend was any indication of what the month is going to be like then it is going to be crazy. November has come to a close and with that the no shave November is over. At work the office had a beard growing contest and being one of only a handful of girls, I got to become a judge. The ladies in the office were asked if we were interested in participating in the no shave November, we declined. It was pretty funny, the guys had to be clean shaven on November 1st and had their pictures taken.

20121204-101644.jpg The guy I voted for came in second; sad but it was still an interesting event. Who knows maybe one day there will be a need to judge some beards and I can volunteer stating previous experience, and this was just the beginning of my weekend!!

Have you ever seen the Nutcracker? The only time I’ve seen it was when I was a child; it was the Carebear Nutcracker Suite version. For real, I just found out that it’s on DVD and ordered it from Amazon; this is what I will be doing Christmas Eve. Back to the Nutcracker, the Russian School of Ballet was in town and performing, I have never seen a ballet before and thought it best to start with a classic. It was pretty amazing, we had gone to a venue I had never been to before, so I got us completely lost, but it was a really nice place and will be going there again for more performances. The ballet of Cinderella is going to be preformed there in January, hint hint!

Sunday was birthday central! Good thing the night before I started baking, made both banana oatmeal chocolate chip cookies and birthday cookies (I’ll post on these later today) they were both a hit! I took some for the middle school leaders in the morning but the rest were divided up among the parties. Like I had mentioned before my friends daughter asked me to make her some cookies for her birthday, so of course I did!! That party was pretty fun, they were at a gymnastics place and got to hang out and have a blast. The second party was a surprise party! Oh wow, we definitely surprised her! There was about 15-20 of us waiting for her on the stairs when she entered the house,

20121204-102004.jpg when she came in we all screamed, she fell over and we sang Happy Birthday. But wait, there was another surprise waiting for her! Her sister flew in from out of town and was hiding in her bedroom.

This was just the beginning of a wonderful month of celebrations and gathering of friends! This December will be filled with fun and cookies!! Come check out my 12 days of cookies if you haven’t already, and let me know which one is your favorite. Oh I almost forgot! I started my last gym challenge of the year today, this one is actually hosted by my gym. From Dec 3rd to Dec 17th the challenge is to attend 12 classes, I’ve already missed out on Monday and won’t be able to make it on Friday of this week. There maybe a couple of days that I am going to try and go both in the morning and the afternoon, there is a barre fit class that I have wanted to try out. Well today is the 4th and I have one class down, let us hope that I can attend 11 more before the 17th.

Leave a Reply

