Mac and Cheese Baked Cups

20130109-171206.jpg
One of my favorite things about having people over is being able to cook for them. It may seem a little strange, but I love trying out new recipes and if I don’t give them to someone else I’m bound to eat them all myself! There is also something about all the fun appetizer size recipes that are super fun to try out as well. For example this Mac and Cheese cup recipe that I originally found here.

Another thing I love is cheese; I may currently have 6-7 different types of cheese in my fridge at this very moment. This may not be the healthiest recipe I make, but making these in muffin tins does help with portions. Although I did just have a friend of mine tell me he has been thinking about these at night ever since he had them at my place, these are some really good muffin mac and cheese! This recipe is easy to double or triple if you are having a lot of people over.

Mac and Cheese Baked Cups

Ingredients:
2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni
1 tbsp butter
1 egg beaten
1 cup milk
1 ½ cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1 ½ cups shredded mozzarella cheese
½ cup season dry bread crumbs (I used Italian flavor)
2 tsp olive oil
½ tsp salt

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease muffin tin with non stick cooking spray. In a small bowl, stir together breadcrumbs, olive oil and salt, set aside
2. Bring a large pot of slightly salted water to a boil. Add the macaroni and cook for about 8 minutes, the pasta should still be firm. Remove from heat, drain and return to pan; stir in the butter and egg until evenly coated. (I used the butter first so that it would melt faster). Reserve ½ cup cheddar cheese and stir in the remaining cheddar cheese, milk and mozzarella cheese into the pasta. Spoon into the prepared muffin tin. Sprinkle the reserved cheese (I added extra) and then the bread crumb mixture over the top of each of the muffins.
3. Bake for 30 minutes or until the tip is nicely browned. Allow the muffins to cool for several minutes before removing them from the pan. This will allow the cheese to set and they will hold their muffin shape.

2 thoughts on “Mac and Cheese Baked Cups

  1. Pingback: Microwave Snacks You Can Cook In A Mug | PurpleWig

  2. Pingback: Baked Mac and Cheese at Zillafest! | A book, coffee, and the park

Leave a Reply

