It has begun

20130118-115656.jpg
Well today was the day started the office winter weight loss challenge. The official weigh in was at 10 am this morning. Needless to say this week was kind of a difficult week, I missed two of my workout classes that I try to attend every week, and was about 15 minutes late to my spinning class this morning. Sad I wasn’t on time, but at least I made it in for most of the class. I was tempted to stay in bed, as soon as I finished that thought I literally jumped out of bed (sorry downstairs neighbor!) and started getting ready to leave.
I was using Livestrong to measure what I was eating, then the holidays came around and I abandoned that! Time to start that up again. Ok, not to get into a huge discussion about this but people are all talking about how Lance Armstrong was doping and what not I agree with my friend who put it this way: “I can’t help but feel sorry for people like Lance Armstrong. I’ve made tons of mistakes in my life and none have made it on the world news”. I would hate for my mistakes to be splashed across newsstands, whatever you may believe, I personally would just be cautious and have compassion. I don’t’ know what he went through, or even how he is feeling now.
On to the challenge! My plan of attack will be: 1) Using the My Plate on Livestrong to accurately measure my calories per day (even on the weekends) 2) Workout 4-6 times a week incorporating strength, cardio, and stretching 3) Incorporate more exercise in daily life, in example parking farther from the entrance, walking during my breaks at work. I believe with these 3 changes will have a big impact on my weight loss goals. I have been pretty consistent with working out 4 times a week, minus this past week. I eat pretty healthy, but without monitoring my portions, I find that the portions get larger and larger!
There were two categories as I have mentioned before, I decided to go with trying to lose 4% of my body weight over the next 12 weeks. That is 7 lbs, sounds simple right? Well remember this challenge I did? 6 weeks of being pretty intense and I lost a lot of inches but the weight didn’t change too much. Which is alright, but for this challenge is based on weight loss and not body composition. There is a total of 19 participants in this office, this is a companywide challenge! More may join but I’m not sure if they will.
As eating healthy is a main variable I can control in this challenge, I will be posting some healthy recipes that I will be trying out. I may try to be gluten free in February or try the Paleo Diet. For the most part I know that people who go gluten free do so because of a medical reason. While I do not have a gluten allergy, people I’ve talked with have said in general that they have become healthier since going gluten free, both people with and without medical conditions. I know that there is a difference between gluten free and Paleo, but not completely sure of it, will need to do more research. I’ve hear a lot of people talking about a Paleo diet.

Have you tried the Paleo Diet? If so what are your thoughts about it? Did you notice a difference in weight, and how you felt? Let me know!

Related:
12 week challenge

3 thoughts on “It has begun

Leave a Reply

