Spaghetti Squash Casserole

20130207-094124.jpg

I was prepared for the worse when I was making this recipe. The first time I substituted a vegetable for something it turned out bad! I tried to substitute cauliflower for mashed potatoes, and to say the least I had to cook bacon and eat it to get over my disappointment. I do think that it was my fault in why it didn’t come out correctly, I was supposed to cut up florets and boil them, well I didn’t read it correctly and just stuck the whole head in the pan. I may try it again but I’m a bit afraid. Back to the topic, I was nervous because I really like pastas, there have been long periods of time in my history when pasta was all I would eat. It was a pleasant surprise when I LOVED this recipe. I went back for seconds and that always is a testament of how something tastes. It takes a little longer than some of my other recipes, a little under 90 minutes for me to completely prepare and have it cool off enough for me to eat. While it may have taken a little bit longer, it was not nearly as difficult as I thought it would be. Having never cooked with a spaghetti squash before there is always an element of surprise, and unexpected turn of events can easily happen. At the grocery I had almost picked up a butternut squash thinking it was the same thing…

Spaghetti Squash Casserole
source

Ingredients:
1 spaghetti squash, halved length wise and seeded
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 small onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 tsp dried basil
2 plum tomatoes, chopped
1 cup cottage cheese
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese (original calls for only ½ a cup)
¼ cup chopped fresh parsley
¼ tsp salt
¼ cup grated parmesan cheese
3 tbsp dry bread crumbs

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400, coat a 13×9 baking dish and a baking sheet with non stick spray. Place the squash cut side down (seeds removed) on the sheet. Bake for 30 minutes or until tender when pierced with a sharp knife. Whit a fork, scrape the squash strands into a large bowl. Use caution, this will be super hot!
2. While the squash is cooking, warm the oil in a medium skillet and set over medium heat. Add onions, garlic, and basil. Cook for 4-5 minutes, or until onion is soft, and the tomatoes. Cook for 3-4 minutes or until mixture is dry.
3. To the bowl with the squash add the cottage cheese, mozzarella, salt and onion mix. Stir to blend, pour into prepared baking dish. Sprinkle top of casserole with parmesan (I used some extra mozzarella cheese) and bread crumbs.
4. Bake for 30 minutes, or until bubbly and heated through.

20130207-094512.jpg

20130207-094529.jpg
**This reheats very well**

3 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash Casserole

  1. Pingback: Squash and Carrot Casserole | Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Squash and Carrot Casserole | Can't Stay Out Of The KitchenCan't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Stuffed tomatoes | A book, coffee, and the park

Leave a Reply

