Cabin Fever = Adventure Planning

Sometimes there are warm days in the winter, this past Friday was one of them. It was in the mid to high 50’s, warm enough for me to ditch the pea coat and pretend spring had finally arrived. It got me daydreaming about my spring and summer plants! Between middle school retreat two weekends ago and the warm start to this past weekend cabin fever has hit, and hit hard!!

As I was daydreaming I started planning because it you don’t plan something it will never happen! One of my favorite things about the weather getting warmer is that it means the sun will stay up longer! With more daylight I feel like there is so much more that can be accomplished during the day. Here are a couple of day trips that I am going to try and accomplish this year.

Mammoth Caves
I have lived in Kentucky for almost 4 years and have yet to go explore this natural wonder! Unacceptable, this is the largest know cave system in the world, and it’s practically in my backyard! There are several different tour options available to take but the one I was interested in doing was the Grand Avenue Tour, it is a 4 ½ hour tour, with a difficulty of strenuous. However this is NOT the adventure tour where there is crawling though little itty bitty holes where there is possibility of getting stuck, I want to see how I do with this one first before it gets super intense. Ever been to the Mammoth Caves? What were your thoughts? Or any recommendations? Please leave me a comment below and let me know.

Red River Gorge
For me, I don’t think this place will EVER get boring for me to hike at. I have been lucky enough to have had the chance to hike and rock climb here multiple times since living in Kentucky. There are so many trails I haven’t hiked yet! So far my favorite trail here is Auxier Ridge, great views and not a super crowded.

20130225-090816.jpg

20130225-090848.jpg
Some of the views I saw on previous hikes to the Gorge, or as some of the locals call it “the Red”. Natural Bridge is nice, and since the Gorge is known for it, it’s kind of a must to take the trail at least once, but there is a lot of foot traffic. If you like solitude while hiking I wouldn’t recommend this trail, while the views are awesome, it is a well known and therefore super busy trail. If you have a chance to hike several trails some ones I liked were: Sky Bridge, Angel Windows, Greys Arch, Double Arch (the previous two trails are both on the same road as Auxier Ridge trail) and Princess Arch. What is your favorite trail to hike at the Red River Gorge? Have any trail books you would recommend?

The Abbey of Gethsemani
This is a place where people have taken retreats or have just spent the day there walking the trails and spending time in prayer. I have not been to this place before, but heard of it through some friends that recommended it.

Raven Run
The couple of times that I’ve been to this nature sanctuary I’ve always missed when the field of flowers are in bloom! Whenever you pull in to park there always seems to be a lot of cars, but except for the lookout over the river, the trails aren’t clogged with a bunch of people.

20130225-091150.jpg

Park Reading Done

20130225-091255.jpg This can be done anywhere! Thankfully there is a park within walking distance of where I live. I’m hoping that I will be able to get there 2-3 times a month, my normal day to go out there is Saturday morning for a couple of hours. My picnic blanket and ‘park bag’ are all ready to go!

Cincinnati Zoo Done and Louisville Zoo
One of my favorite things about living in the Chicagoland area was that I was always just a short train ride away from Brookfield Zoo It has been several years since I’ve visited a zoo and I miss the animals!!! Here’s a picture from a visit to Gatorland Zoo

20130225-091655.jpg Scary isn’t he!!!

These are some of the plans that I would like to do this year. Who knows they may all get don’t or they might not, we will see. What are some places you like to visit during warm weather?

Below are the links to the posts of what I’ve accomplished:
Mammoth Cave – Grand Avenue Tour

Red River Gorge Hiking:
Double Arch Trail
Gray’s Arch
Whittleton Branch Trail

Zoo Adventures:
Cincinnati Zoo
Cincinnati Zoo Part 2
Strike a Pose – Cincinnati Zoo Style

15 thoughts on “Cabin Fever = Adventure Planning

  1. Pingback: Double Arch Trail | A book, coffee, and the park

  2. Pingback: Update and things to come | A book, coffee, and the park

  3. Pingback: Mammoth Cave – Grand Avenue Tour | A book, coffee, and the park

  4. Pingback: Cincinnati Zoo | A book, coffee, and the park

  5. Pingback: Lions and Tigers and Bears – Oh My! Zoo 2 | A book, coffee, and the park

  6. Pingback: Strike a Pose – Cincinnati Zoo Style | A book, coffee, and the park

  7. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too wonderful.
    I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which
    you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible.

    I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is actually a terrific site.

  8. Pingback: Gary’s Arch | A book, coffee, and the park

  9. Pingback: Whittleton Branch Trail | A book, coffee, and the park

  10. Pingback: Hiking, hiking, hiking | A book, coffee, and the park

  11. Hope you don’t mind a post from a stranger. Usually not my thing but I will discuss The Red with anyone.
    The book Hinterlands by Jerrel Goodpastor is great. Its unofficial trails but most of them are in pretty good shape. May have to hop a few trees. Secrets are given away to some of the best places to see in RRG. He ticked the forest service off with that.
    My fave official trail by far is Swift Camp Creek. Hope I helpef some enjoy & feel free to check out my blog.
    Oh…don’t sweat the copperheads. You probably had already passed 20 by that point. Its takes a lot to get em to strike. I sat down next to one once unknowlingly. It just laid there & still didn’t move when I jumped up. Just don’t try to pick em up or corner them & you will be fine.

    • I don’t mind at all. Thanks for the book and trail recommendations, I’ll have to check them out! Believe me, I will be going out of my way not to corner or scare the copperheads :)

Leave a Reply

