Fajita mix and fajitas!

I grew up on Mexican food and have loved it since I was a little girl. Unfortunately my grandmother is no longer around, so now that I am exploring more with cooking I cannot ask her for advice, and how she made her wonderful food that I remember from my childhood. I have been slowly trying to get away from packaged mixes, so I hit the internet and decided to try this I didn’t have everything on here, so I made some adjustments. One of the things I like about cooking is that there is a lot of freedom to it, you can make a couple of changes to suit your tastes.

Ingredients:
MIX
1 tbsp cornstarch
2 tsp chili powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp sugar
¾ tsp crushed chicken bouillon cube
½ tsp onion powder
½ tsp red pepper flakes
¼ tsp garlic powder
¼ tsp cumin

20130224-195615.jpg
FAJITAS
2 lbs chicken
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 bell pepper, sliced
1 onion sliced
2 tbsp fajita mix
Lettuce

20130224-195749.jpg
Directions:
1. To create the mix, add each of the ingredients into a small bowl and whisk together. Set the mix aside.
2. Cut the chicken into stripes, pour 1 tbsp vegetable oil onto a large skillet and cook the chicken until it is no longer pink.
3. Add in bell pepper (I used a mixture of red, yellow, and green) and onion to the chicken, cook 3-4 minutes. Add ¼ cup of water to the skillet, and 2 tbsp of fajita mix. Stir to coat and let cook for an additional 1-2 minutes.
4. Scoop the cooked chicken and vegetables into waiting lettuce wraps, or you could use tortillas.

** I used lettuce instead of tortillas just to try and cut down on calories, it turned out delicious! I would recommend adding a little Monterey cheese to top it off with. **

20130224-195857.jpg

Leave a Reply

