Update and things to come

Ahh it’s been almost a month since I’ve written anything here, sad. Work has been a little crazy; getting the hang of new stuff takes time. Lately I feel like I’ve been back at square one, with work, my personal life and with my workout.

Lets be honest here, I haven’t stopped cooking either. I mean I have recipes written up and even the pictures taken and edited. Why haven’t I posted them yet? I haven’t an idea, and yes I write up my recipe posts in a spiral notebook before I post them. I cook a lot more than I post and like to be able to write a couple of posts at a time and schedule them to be posted. I get into a food rut sometimes and make and eat the same thing for weeks at a time, example, I’ve made cream cheese chicken chili like 5 times in the last 2 months. That may not seem like it would be a lot for a family, but when I make it, the leftovers will last me a couple of days. In essence I’ve eaten that for about a month out of the last two.

I was a huge bum with working out; I don’t think I went more than one or two times the entire month of February. A friend of mine signed up for the gym and has helped motivate me to go more in March. I love to work out, I love to sleep too, and 5:45 comes early! So I am working on trying to go at least twice a week and slowly work myself up to 4-5 times a week again. I know that if I try to go back to 4-5 times a week that I will beat myself up and get discouraged if I can’t make it. Yes I will get back there, but it might take a month of working up to it to get there. The wait will be worth it though, and I will do it!

Ever since I can remember spring has been the hardest for me. It may be the anticipation of the summer months to finally get here; being so over the grays of winter, or for some reason it seems like the days just take more out of me. At the same time I love spring for the fact that I know summer will be here soon, I enjoy sitting through spring thunderstorms, making summer vacation plans, and watching as the days grow longer and hotter at every passing week. My birthday is in the spring, and for the past several years my birthday is the time that I finally get to go and see my family! Thanksgiving and spring are the two times that I always get to go and see them. Driving north in the winter isn’t the best idea, since a lot of the highways are on open flat plains. If there is any combination of snow and wind, which are characteristic of winter, the roadways get covered within a matter of minutes after they’ve been cleared. I talk with them weekly but that is different than seeing them. Maybe it’s the waiting that gets me, that there is something starting but is just out of reach.

I haven’t forgotten about this post either, I written about my first trip to the Red River Gorge and taking on the Double Arch trail. I am still working on getting to visit the other places as well. This weekend I am hoping to go and explore Mammoth Cave. Craziness happened and some friends and I went to go get tickets for the Grand Avenue Tour, long story short, I was able to get a reservation and it sold out before my friends got a chance to book theirs! So it looks like I’ll be going solo here. I’m terrified of it, sometimes it hard to do things by myself, even if it’s something I really want to do. I am an extrovert, so I love being around people and sharing experiences with friends. The tour sold out, so I won’t be by myself (I wouldn’t recommend caving alone!) but I won’t be with people I know either, and that makes me sad. I am also hoping to get to go to the Cincinnati Zoo this month! If there is one thing I’ve learned over and over is that nothing is set in stone, so while I am planning on going I need to be able to adapt to changes if they occur! A friend I had dinner with the other night was excited when she heard that I wanted to go to the Badlands sometime, so plans for that trip might be in the works for the near future!!

There are many adventures with DIY projects. I have done a couple of small projects but this weekend will mark the beginning of the largest DIY project to date! Exciting and scary at the same time!! I will admit that I highly recommend Ana White to anyone I know that is thinking of building anything. Her plans were what I used to make this:

20130405-134056.jpg and now I am going to try and make a Farmhouse Queen Bedframe With the help of my friend, he has a saw; and he said he would help me cut all of the pieces need! What a great friend right?! Living in an apartment has many advantages in my opinion, but also disadvantages like not being able to store a table saw.

I’m hoping to post about my adventures next week! I realize that my bedframe will not be finished by next week, I have to cut, assemble and paint it, but I can post about the other DIY projects I’ve done lately!

What kind of adventures do you have planned for the summer? Hiking? Any DIY Projects? Travelling? Exploring? Road tripping?

2 thoughts on “Update and things to come

  1. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an very long comment
    but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyways, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

