Deep Dark Chocolate Cookies

Desserts for a wedding!

A friend was getting married and a couple of us were making the desserts. The goal was to have many different types of bite size treats for the guests to have after a tasty BBQ dinner. The treats I was tasked with were these amazing chocolate cookies, originally found here.

Now I had seen these cookies around a couple of times at different get togethers I had been at, the girl that normally makes these was coming in from out of the country so I got to bake them. She emailed me the recipe and I was pleasantly surprised at the fact that these were gluten free! Made without either butter or flour! There was a couple of challenges were overcome with this recipe, the first is I don’t have a mixer, I know I know with all the cooking/baking I do I should have one but I don’t. The second is that I don’t have a microwave either. Don’t worry I am indeed a bit strange with that one, but really it frees up counter space and I have one I use at work for leftovers. This recipe really needs both, now I could have made a double boiler but without a mixer I was still in a bind. That is until my friend Theresa texted to see if I was interested in a baking party! You better believe I was!

20130528-105544.jpg In case you were wondering, her dessert involved strawberries!!

Deep Dark Chocolate Cookies

20130528-105854.jpg

Ingredients:
1 ½ cups bittersweet chocolate chips, divided
3 large egg whites, room temperature
2 cups powdered sugar (will need extra to roll cookies in)
½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 Tbsp cornstarch
¼ tsp salt

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees, spray 2 large baking sheets with nonstick spray. Melt 1 cup of chocolate chips in a bowl in the microwave. I did 30 second intervals, stirring after each round
2. Using an electric mixer, beat egg whites in a large bowl to soft peaks. Gradually beat in 1 cup of sugar. Continue beating until mixture resembles soft marshmallow crème.
3. Whisk 1 cup sugar, cocoa, cornstarch and salt in a medium bowl. On low speed, beat dry ingredients into meringue (don’t pronounce the e at the end). Stir in lukewarm chocolate and ½ cup of the unmelted chocolate chips. (This will make the dough really stiff)
4. Round 1 rounded tablespoon of the dough into a ball, and coat in powdered sugar.
5. Place on prepared cookie sheet, and bake for 8-10 minutes.

20130528-110128.jpg
First time using a mixer! Big steps here guys :)

20130528-110252.jpg

20130528-110335.jpg

One thought on “Deep Dark Chocolate Cookies

  1. Pingback: Baked Mac and Cheese at Zillafest! | A book, coffee, and the park

Leave a Reply

