Whittleton Branch Trail

I posted a the below picture on my Facebook wall and one of the comments that was posted by a friend was, “Is that a northern Copperhead aka poisonous?” You know what? That question made me realize several things, first I need to make sure I can identify the poisonous animals/bugs in the area, two that we are really lucky not to have gotten bitten, and three, yes I believe it was a baby copperhead snake.

20130617-192227.jpg

To be honest this past weekend when I went hiking was the first time I’d ever seen a snake by the trail, and it just goes to show how important it is to stay on the trail! If we hadn’t been on the trail, where we could see the ground there is no doubt in my mind that sooner or later one of us would have been bitten by a snake. Which brings me to another safety point; don’t hike by yourself, please. Even Bear Grylls has a camera crew with him.

Alrighty! Now on with the fun stuff, the hike! I was pleasantly surprised when my friend Kelsey texted me and asked if I wanted to go hiking. You better believe I did! Wittleton Trail is also at a camp site, we had to ask where the trailhead was, I was super pumped about going on a new (to me) trail! If you are planning on taking this trail, the hikers parking is at the front of the campgrounds, and then follow the road to the end of the campgrounds and there is the trailhead. Now we’re off!

Nature absolutely amazes me, for instance look at these trees that are growing on the side of a massive boulder! Could you do this? I think not!

20130617-192320.jpg

The total mileage of this trail was right around 4 miles, we actually took two trails, the first was trail #216, Wittleton Branch Trail (1.80 miles, one way) and the second was trail #217, Wittleton Arch (.20 miles, one way).

20130617-192408.jpg

There were several bridges that we got to cross, like this mossy bridge.

20130617-192536.jpg

The water was a bit low, which made for the below picture a lot easier, as this would have been an active stream we would have had to hike up to continue on the trail.

20130617-192640.jpg That is one thing I really like about the trails in the Gorge, is that sometimes you have to hike up a streambed to continue on your path. That was something I had never encountered before in the forest preserves of the Chicagoland area. Here is another streambed that is all dry.

20130617-192732.jpg Let me tell you, even if there was water hiking through it would have been worth it! look at these trees!

20130617-192841.jpg

Along the trail to the arch there were several nice green cliffs along the way

20130617-192942.jpg Spring is a great time to hike in Kentucky, it is just SO green!!

20130617-193040.jpg

We made it!!

20130617-193144.jpg

20130617-193204.jpg There was a little bit of a waterfall, again I believe if the water levels were higher it would have been a bigger waterfall!

Another trailed marked off my Spring/Summer Bucket List! Click here to see all I’m trying to accomplish this year!

Check out my other hikes in the Boone National Forest:
Gray’s Arch
Double Arch

12 thoughts on “Whittleton Branch Trail

  1. Pingback: Gray’s Arch | A book, coffee, and the park

  2. Pingback: Double Arch Trail | A book, coffee, and the park

  3. Pingback: Cabin Fever = Adventure Planning | A book, coffee, and the park

  4. Pingback: Croatan National Forest Oyster Point Campground « ncoutdooradventuresmia

  5. I will have to contact you for some great trails, the ones you have posted look fab. I did invest in a great pair of hiking boots this year after almost twisting my ankles too many times. We always hike with hiking sticks, which are a third pivot point when descending these steep Arkansas hills. I am pretty tired when I hike in the boots. since I wear a 12.5 AAAA and those darn things weigh 2.5 pounds each..Hiking 6-10 miles when every step is an extra 2.5 pound really tires you out, but the extra hightops protect you from snake bites at he ankle! We were just happy a few years back when we saw the mountain lion as we were leaving the park that we had hiked about 12 miles in! He was huge, and the biggest feline I had ever seen in the wild, his shoulders were above the hood of our car! Yet another reason to hike with a hiking stick at least you have something to strike a critter with!

  6. Pingback: Hiking, hiking, hiking | A book, coffee, and the park

  7. I copied your pic of the copperhead to post on my blog site and when I enlarged it I quickly realized it is not a copperhead at all. That is a northern water snake. They are mistaken for copperheads quite often becasue they are very similar. I don’t want to preach like a know it all. If you would like details to identification you know how to reach me. That doesnt mean be less caucious because there are many copperheads in the Red.

Leave a Reply

