Fettuccine with Tomato Cream Sauce

You know how some people are considered “crazy cat lady”? Well I think I’m well on my way to becoming a “crazy plant lady”. Example:

20130619-220301.jpg In my defense I do like to cook a lot and don’t have a balcony in my apartment so my plants are all in my living room, as it is the only room in my place that gets awesome sun! However now that I have added herbs to my plants, my living room is starting to resemble a jungle. Not that I mind, I love it actually, however I think it may sometimes come as a surprise to people coming over for the first time. I wouldn’t do anything different though, because cooking with fresh herbs is so worth it! Like the below recipe, from Cooking Light, the original recipe called for olives and Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese. Well I don’t like olives and that cheese was pretty expensive so I omitted the olives and went with an Italian blend cheese.

Fettuccine with Tomato Cream Sauce

20130619-220547.jpg

Ingredients:

8 oz uncooked fettuccine
½ teaspoon kosher salt, divided
1 tablespoon olive oil
3 tablespoons coarsely chopped garlic
1 (28 oz) can whole peeled tomatoes, I cut up the tomatoes
3 oz cream cheese
¼ teaspoon crushed red pepper
¼ cup small fresh basil leaves, I used bigger leaves and cup them up
½ oz cheese

Directions:

1. Cook pasta in 4 quarts boiling water with ¼ teaspoon salt for 8 minutes or until noodles are almost al dente. Drain pasta and reserve ½ cup pasta cooking water.

2. Heat a large skillet over med-low heat. Add oil to the pan, swirl to coat. Add garlic and cook for 2 minutes until fragrant, stirring occasionally. Stir in the rest of the salt and tomatoes; cook 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Sir in reserve pasta water, and bring to a boil. Add the cream cheese; stir until smooth. Add pasta and red pepper; cook 3 minutes or until pasta is al dente, tossing to coat. Divide pasta mixture among 4 bowls, top each with fresh basil and cheese.

**I paired this with some local red wine and had baked zucchini (recipe here) as a side, yummy**

Other pasta recipes I like:
Penne With Sun-Dried Tomatoes in Cream Sauce

2 thoughts on “Fettuccine with Tomato Cream Sauce

  1. Pingback: Lobster Pasta with Herbed Cream Sauce | Inspirations Fine Catering, Inc.

  2. Pingback: Spaghetti and Meatballs | A book, coffee, and the park

Leave a Reply

