Stuffed tomatoes

As summer approaches I tend to look for recipes that are light, and use fresh in season produce. One thing I’ve noticed is there always seems to be an overflow of tomatoes, not that I mind, thankfully there are lots of uses for tomatoes in cooking.

Stuffed tomatoes
original here

20130620-092600.jpg

Ingredients:

2 large tomatoes
2 tsp olive oil
1 tsp white wine vinegar
2/3 cup cottage cheese
¼ cup diced cucumber
1 tbsp + 1 tsp snipped chives

Directions:

1. Trim off top ½ inch tomato and remove core. Scoop out ½ the flesh and make a bowl. Discard seeds, dice remaining flesh and reserve. Season inside of tomato shell with kosher salt and pepper.

2. Whisk together olive oil and white wine vinegar. Combine with cottage cheese, cucumbers reserve tomato flesh and 1 tbsp chives. Season to taste with kosher salt and fresh ground pepper.

3. Stuff cottage cheese mixture into tomato shells and serve.

Some other tomato recipes I love!
Zucchini Pizza
Spaghetti Squash Casserole
Lasagna Cups
Avocado Southwestern Salsa
Simple Tomato Sauce
Baked Tomato and Mozzarella

**Hey guys, it’s also the 1 year anniversary of my first blog post! Wow who knew I would actually keep up with this? Not me! But I’m so happy I did, I’ve cooked and baked so many different things this year; it’s been amazing!!**

Leave a Reply

