Artichoke, Spinach, Feta Stuffed Shells

Ever have something and realize, you really like it and can’t believe you’ve missed eating that your entire life?! Well that is how I felt when I first encounter artichokes; I know right, not what you were expecting but it’s awesome, for real. The first time I remember having it and falling in love with it, was last year at a friend’s house it was a cheese and artichoke dip, WONDERFUL! Now I know that I’ve got your hopes up, but that is not the recipe I’m about to tell you about. For a couple of reasons, I haven’t made that recipe yet, so I cannot blog about it, and the reason I haven’t made it yet is because I’m nervous I will sit and eat ALL of it without sharing and that wouldn’t be good for anyone. Another great recipe is this:

Artichoke, Spinach and Feta Stuffed Shells
Original here

20130626-210221.jpg

Ingredients:
1 teaspoon dried oregano
¼ cup chopped pepperoncini peppers
1 (28 oz) can fire roasted crushed tomatoes
1 (8 oz) can no salt added tomato sauce
2 cup shredded provolone cheese, divided (I used Italian blend cheese)
1 cup crumbled feta cheese
½ cup (4 oz) cream cheese, softened
¼ tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 (9 oz) package frozen artichoke hearts, thawed and chopped
5 oz fresh chopped spinach
2 garlic cloves, minced
25 jumbo cooked shell pasta
Cooking spray

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Boil water and cook pasta

2. Combine first 4 ingredients in a medium saucepan. Place over medium heat; cook 12 minutes or until slightly thick, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat; set aside.

3. Combine 1 cup Italian blend cheese and the next 6 ingredients (through garlic) in a medium bowl. Spoon or pipe filling into the shells; place stuffed shells in a 13×9 inch backing dish coated with cooking spray. Spoon tomato mixture over shells; sprinkle the remaining cup of cheese on top. Bake at 375, for 25 minutes or until thoroughly heated and cheese melts.

20130626-210413.jpg

This was my first time making stuffed shells, and it was a lot less intense than I had always thought! Not only have that, the leftover heated up great.

Other recipes to try:
Chicken Alfredo Roll Ups

Leave a Reply

