Spaghetti and Meatballs

I love pasta, and have a weird hoarding compulsion in regards to it. I’m currently at my lowest inventory of pasta in 5 years! With less than 4 lbs of pasta left, I’ll be heading to the store to stock back up. I’m kidding! Pasta is an easy dish, with so many dishes that can use it. This is not some crazy out of the way dish though; this is your plain Jane spaghetti and meatballs. This is a combination recipe; the ingredients in the recipe are what my mother uses, but the technique is from a recipe I found online.

20130723-170446.jpg

Meatballs

Ingredients:
1 lb ground beef
¼ cup Italian seasoned bread crumbs
¼ cup grated parmesan cheese
1 egg
1 ½ tsp onion soup mix
1 tbsp each of fresh basil, rosemary, oregano
1 lb pasta of your choice
1 jar of your favorite pasta sauce

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. In a medium size bowl fill with water, a dash of salt and set to boil. Once the water is boiling add the uncooked pasta and cook per the directions on the box. Drain and set aside once cooked.
3. In a large bowl mix all the ingredients except the last two. When thoroughly mixed roll into 1-inch balls and place is in a casserole pan (I say this because there will be grease, and if it’s on a cookie sheet the grease will run over the sides and onto the bottom of the stove. This will cause massive amounts of smoke, possibly a fire, your fire alarm will go off and all your neighbors will think you are a horrible cook! Trust me on this, learn from my failure and put the meatballs in something that has decent sized sides) Bake for 25 minutes or until cooked through.

20130723-230519.jpg
4. About 3-5 minutes before the meatballs are finished cooking, empty the pasta sauce of your choice (Might I recommend what i recently tried myself: Trader Joe’s Creamy Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce)

20130723-230645.jpg
into a sauce pan and set to medium heat.
5. Once the meatballs are cooked add them to the pan with the pasta sauce and make sure the sauce is heated through. Divide the pasta onto dinner plates and top with the sauce and meatballs

This will conclude my intake of Italian food for a while, next off I’m hoping to go on a culinary whirlwind adventure with Asian cooking. Not to worry there are several Asian pasta recipes I’ve seen. Let’s all pray I don’t set my apartment on fire! I think my first trial recipe will be beef with Bok Choy, hopefully it’ll be very soon.

Other fresh herb recipes
Fettuccine with Tomato Cream Sauce
Guacamole
Cilantro Lime Rice

Leave a Reply

