It’s Soup Season

Winter is officially here! The weather has turned coder and we recently received our first snowfall. While I originally lived in the Chicagoland area, I moved south to avoid the harsh Chicago winters. While milder, winter in Kentucky can still get colder than what I prefer, thankfully I love blankets, hot coffee and soup, all perfect things to warm me up when the temperatures drop. Getting sick seems to accompany the cold weather, recently when I was sick I discovered the wonderfulness of chicken noodle soup. Now, now I’d eaten chicken noodle soup before, but when I was sick it was the ONLY thing that I could eat. I had a new appreciation for it, I’m not kidding either, I ate chicken noodle soup for two weeks straight. I started with just some canned Campbell’s, and I must have looked really pathetic at work because two different co-workers brought me homemade chicken noodle soup as well! Between the two of them they were my main source of my soup for that two week period. Once I had homemade soup there was no way I could go back to the canned stuff! That and I was looking for something that has less sodium and canned soup sure does have a lot of sodium.

Chicken Noodle Soup
by BHG

20130104-154753.jpg
Ingredients:
4 ½ cups chicken broth (I used low sodium)
1 cup chopped onion
1 cup sliced carrot
1 cup sliced celery
1 tsp dried basil
1 tsp dried oregano
¼ tsp ground black pepper
1 bay leaf
1 ½ cups dried egg noodles
2 cups chopped cooked chicken

Directions:
1. In a 3 quart pan combine everything except the dried egg noodles and the chicken. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer covered for 5 minutes. For the onions I put them in a food processor so they were almost non-existent. The original recipe does not tell you what kind of chicken to use, again to try and go the healthier route I cooked my chicken in a saucepan with a little bit of water until the chicken was no longer pink. Once cooked, I cut up the chicken, and lightly seasoned with a pinch of salt and pepper.
2. Stir in noodles. Return to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, covered, for 8 to 10 minutes or until noodles are tender but still firm and vegetable are just tender. Remove and discard the bay leaf. stir in chicken; heat through.

I’ve made this recipe twice, the second time I doubled it and divided and froze the second half of the soup to have on hand in case I get sick again. Happy soup season! What’s your favorite soup to make?

Leave a Reply

