Holy Guacamole, don’t touch your eye

I love making food, and unless I want to eat the same thing day in and day out I normally share what I make with friends. When one of my friends asked if I could bring something salty (I normally bring something sweet) to her brothers fundraiser I was excited to try out a guacamole recipe I saw on Budget Savvy Diva’s blog. It was super simple and came out tasting great. Within a week of first making it someone had asked for the recipe. There is one thing I would do differently next time. When I went to the grocery store, they were out of fresh jalapeños, and weren’t getting more in until the next day. I should have just went to another location, but I was being lazy, it was super hot outside, and I was already feeling kind of gross, I went with canned jalapeños. I need to get fresh jalapeños next time, when everything else is fresh it just didn’t feel right to me that I used canned, also I really need to learn how chop food. While cutting up the peppers the only thing that I could think of was, “don’t touch your eyes!” so my eyes started to immediately itch. This guacamole will be made again for sure, with all fresh ingredients next time! Something that helped me when I was picking out the avocados was to squeeze it and if the avocado was soft and not squishy then it was ripe. Another tip I saw on a blog I visited was if you take the corner of your nail and just slightly peel a bit of the skin up, if it’s green then it will be fresh and not brown on the inside.

Ingredients:
3 ripe avocados
1/2 cup chopped red onion
1/2 cup chopped cilantro
1/3 cup chopped jalapeños
1/8 cup lemon/lime juice, mostly lemon
Punch of salt

20120803-092438.jpg I was too embarrassed to put the can of jalapeños in this picture!

Directions:
First slice the avocados in half length wise. A non messy way to remove the pit is to hit the pit with a knife (please be careful not to accidentally cut yourself!) once the knife is in the pit, slowly twist the knife and it should come right out. Next time I cut one up I’ll make sure to take pictures of it :). Scoop the avocados out of their skins and mash them in a bowl, leaving them slightly chunky. Add the other ingredients, mix, and enjoy.

One thought on “Holy Guacamole, don’t touch your eye

  1. Pingback: Spaghetti and Meatballs | A book, coffee, and the park

Leave a Reply

