All those tomatoes came from one plant!

Harvest time at the office is great, it seems like there are fresh tomatoes every other day! It always surprises me when people plant multiple tomato plants. I feel like one plant can produce a hundred tomatoes a season, if not more! Even with the extremely hot summer we’ve been having the plants are producing plenty. It has only been within the last two or three years I started eating tomatoes outside of them being in salsa or pasta sauce. I’m still not at the level where I could sit down and bit into a tomato like it was an apple, but there is always next year! This recipe from Eating Well is simple, fast, and yummy. I did mix it up a smidgen, the original recipe uses Parmesan cheese and I used mozzarella.

Ingredients:
4 Tomatoes, halved
Mozzarella cheese thinly sliced, or shredded
1 tsp chopped oregano
1/4 tsp salt
Freshly ground pepper to taste
4 tsp extra virgin olive oil

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees
2. Place tomatoes, cut side up on a baking sheet. Top with oregano, salt, pepper then cheese. Drizzle assembled tomatoes with olive oil and bake until tomatoes are tender, about 15 minutes.

20120805-155949.jpg
In this picture I had both regular tomatoes and some smaller cherry tomatoes. They were all delicious, I like how the small cherry tomatoes could just be popped in my mouth.

One thought on “All those tomatoes came from one plant!

  1. Pingback: Stuffed tomatoes | A book, coffee, and the park

Leave a Reply

