Chicken Tortilla Soup

The warm spike in the weather has ended, and it is back to the coldness of winter. There was freezing rain just the other day. Not to worry though, my crockpot came to the rescue when I was busy but wanted something warm and hearty to fill my stomach. The crockpot is so easy, easy to cook with, I mean you just put the ingredients in the pot and leave, it is also easy to clean if you get those handy liners they have at the store. I was a little nervous the first couple of times I used them, I didn’t want my food to taste funny but much to my relief it tasted just the same as without the liner. Possibly better because I knew that there would be almost zero clean up for me to do!

Chicken Tortilla Soup
found on Baked by Rachel

20130209-181608.jpg
Ingredients:
1 lb chicken breast
1 (15 oz) can sweet whole corn kernels, drained
1 (15 oz) can diced tomatoes, drained (I used one with green chilies to spice it up)
5 cups chicken broth, low sodium
¾ cup onion, chopped
¾ cup bell pepper (I used a mix of green, red, orange and yellow)
1 (4 oz) can diced green chilies
1 Serrano pepper, minced
¼ tsp chili powder
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 ½ tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
season tortilla strips

Directions:
1. Put the first 10 ingredients in the crockpot and cook on high for 4-6 hours or low 8-10 hours
2. Prior to serving, remove chicken, shred and return it to the slow cooker to mix
3. Serve with cheese and tortilla strips as garnish

One thought on “Chicken Tortilla Soup

  1. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

