Hummus

Yum! I used to not like hummus unless it was flavored with red peppers or pine nuts, but this recipe is super quick and tasty. The only thing that was hard for me was finding tahini. It was just because I had no idea at all what it was, how it was packaged, or even where it could be found in the market. If you are wondering tahini is a ground sesame seed paste. I found it in my local grocery by the ethnic food section. If you are wondering more about tahini and what it is you can read some articles here. Now I got the smallest container of tahini, but my recipe only calls for 1 ½ tbsp of tahini and it leaves a lot left over, while I love hummus I don’t want to get burnt out on it. I found this that has other recipes and uses for tahini.

Hummus
Original recipe

20130222-124607.jpg

Ingredients:
1 (16 oz) can chickpeas or garbanzo beans
¼ cup liquid from can of chickpeas
3-5 tablespoons lemon juice
1 ½ tbsp tahini
1 clove garlic
½ tsp salt
2 tbsp olive oil

Directions:
1. Put everything in the food processor and blend until smooth
2. Place in a serving bowl and enjoy!

**The website also gives instructions for storing leftover hummus: it can be refrigerated for up to 3 days or kept in the freezer for up to a month! If the hummus looks a little dry just add a bit of olive oil**

4 thoughts on “Hummus

  1. Pingback: Nut-free, Celiac-free food: the best of Tahini culture | Tahini blog for good food and good health

  2. Pingback: Strawberry Lemonade Cookies | A book, coffee, and the park

Leave a Reply

